Our governance is based on clear lines of accountability, decision-making and reporting, as well as defined planning and performance management.

In 2011–12, we employed strategies that:

  • met the objectives for which funding was appropriated,
  • ensured accountability to parliament and other stakeholders,
  • identified responsibility for the management of resources, and
  • developed, maintained and used information on the full accrual costs and values of producing deliverables.

We were driven to modernise our methods of accountability to achieve efficiency and effectiveness.

Our leadership and management

The Electoral Commissioner is responsible for the management and strategic leadership of the AEC.

In 2011–12, the Electoral Commissioner’s leadership was supported by:

  • the Deputy Electoral Commissioner,
  • two first assistant commissioners,
  • six assistant commissioners,
  • the Chief Finance Officer,
  • the Chief Legal Officer, and
  • state managers in each state and the Northern Territory, who all hold the statutory appointment of Australian Electoral Officer.

The Executive Management Group also assisted the Electoral Commissioner.

Our management committees

We have four senior management committees. Those committees and their responsibilities are as follows.

Executive Management Group

The Executive Management Group is responsible for leadership, management and sound governance.

In 2011–12, the Executive Management Group supported the Electoral Commissioner in determining our strategic directions and organisational priorities for the year. It ensured that organisational objectives were achieved and contributed to our strategic leadership and operational management, and that we followed good corporate governance practices and managed risk appropriately.

The Executive Management Group was also responsible for shaping our future in line with the Commission’s three strategic themes: modernisation, collaboration, and investing in our people.

Collectively, the group defined high-level priorities, while more detailed contributions were made at other planning levels.

The members of the group were:

  • Electoral Commissioner (Chair),
  • Deputy Electoral Commissioner (Deputy Chairperson),
  • first assistant commissioners,
  • assistant commissioners,
  • state and territory managers,
  • Chief Legal Officer,
  • Chief Finance Officer, and
  • a Director of Operations representative.
Our Executive Management Group. Back row (L to R): Rachel Harris, Sandra Riordan, David Molnar, Tim Courtney, Andrew Gately, Pablo Carpay, Marie Neilson, Claire Witham, Neal Mason, Anne Bright, Doug Orr and Tom Rogers. Front row (L to R): Robert Pugsley, Kathy Mitchell, Ed Killesteyn, Jenni McMullan and Kevin Kitson. Absent: Peter Kramer, Paul Pirani and Cheryl McRae.

Our Executive Management Group.

Back row (left to right): Rachel Harris, Sandra Riordan, David Molnar, Tim Courtney, Andrew Gately, Pablo Carpay, Marie Neilson, Claire Witham, Neal Mason, Anne Bright, Doug Orr and Tom Rogers.

Front row (left to right): Robert Pugsley, Kathy Mitchell, Ed Killesteyn, Jenni McMullan and Kevin Kitson.

Absent: Peter Kramer, Paul Pirani and Cheryl McRae.

Investment and Strategies Committee

The Investment and Strategies Committee met five times in 2011–12. The committee was responsible for assisting the Electoral Commissioner to:

  • articulate the AEC’s strategic objectives, research and planning activities along with its innovation priorities, challenges and timeframes,
  • ensure the overall integrity and coherence of the AEC portfolio, and that the portfolio delivers the AEC’s strategic objectives, contributes to the AEC’s bottom line and drives value in all programs and projects,
  • allocate funding from the AEC’s investment pool to proposals that fit the AEC’s agreed strategic objectives, business priorities, budget, workforce capability, IT architecture and risk management framework, and
  • monitor program and project performance against indicators, including budget, expenditure.

The members of the committee were:

  • Deputy Electoral Commissioner (Chair),
  • first assistant commissioners,
  • Assistant Commissioner, Strategic Capability,
  • State Manager, New South Wales, and
  • State Manager, Western Australia.

The Chief Finance Officer and the Chief Information Officer also attended meetings in an advisory capacity.

Business Assurance Committee

The Business Assurance Committee is responsible for providing independent assurance and assistance to the Electoral Commissioner and our Executive Management Group. The committee conducted four meetings in 2011–12, which included reviews of the AEC’s risk, control and compliance frameworks, and review of the AEC’s financial statements.

Members from 1 January 2012 included:

  • external member (Chair),
  • Deputy Electoral Commissioner (Deputy Chair),
  • first assistant commissioners,
  • Assistant Commissioner, Information Technology,
  • State Manager, Victoria, and
  • State Manager, South Australia.

Fraud Control Committee

The Fraud Control Committee was first established in 2007 by the Electoral Commissioner as a subcommittee of the Business Assurance Committee. Its role during 2011–12 was to review the process of developing and implementing the AEC’s fraud control arrangements and to provide assurance that we have processes and systems in place to prevent, detect and deter fraud within the AEC. It was also responsible for ensuring we met our obligations under the Commonwealth Fraud Control Guidelines 2011.

The committee held four meetings in 2011–12.

Committee members from 1 January 2012 included:

  • Assistant Commissioner, Information Technology (Chair)
  • Chief Finance Officer
  • Fraud Control Manager.