The AEC's organisational structure at 30 June 2012, including the names of senior executives, is shown in Figure 1.


The AEC was established in 1984, when the Electoral Act was amended to include a three-person Commission. According to the Electoral Act, the three people must be an active or retired judge of the Federal Court of Australia, the Electoral Commissioner, and a non-judicial member.

At 30 June 2012, the Commission consisted of:

  • the Hon Peter Heerey AM QC, Chairperson,
  • Ed Killesteyn PSM, Electoral Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer, AEC, and
  • Brian Pink, the Australian Statistician, non-judicial member.

Senior staff

Ed Killesteyn, Electoral Commissioner, is responsible for the management and strategic leadership of the AEC. He is assisted by the Deputy Electoral Commissioner, two first assistant commissioners, six assistant commissioners, the Chief Finance Officer and the Chief Legal Officer.

The Electoral Commissioner is also assisted by state managers in each state and the Northern Territory. Each person holds the statutory appointment of Australian Electoral Officer.

Office network

National office

Our National Office is organised into eight branches, with assistant commissioners heading up six of those branches:

  • Education and Communications
  • Elections
  • Finance and Business Services
  • Information Technology
  • Legal and Compliance
  • People Services
  • Roll Management
  • Strategic Capability.

The Chief Finance Officer leads the Finance and Business Services Branch and the Chief Legal Officer heads the Legal and Compliance Branch.

Three assistant commissioners are also national program managers:

  • The Assistant Commissioner, Education and Communications Branch, has national policy responsibility for public awareness, information and education programs.
  • The Assistant Commissioner, Elections Branch, has national policy responsibility for parliamentary and Torres Strait Regional Authority elections.
  • The Assistant Commissioner, Roll Management Branch, has national policy responsibility for electoral enrolment.

State offices

State managers run the seven state offices, including the Northern Territory office. The managers are responsible for electoral activities in their respective jurisdictions.

The NSW/ACT State Manager is a national program manager, responsible for the conduct of industrial elections and protected action ballots.

Victoria’s State Manager is a national program manager responsible for fee-for-service elections.

Divisional offices

The third tier of our office network is responsible for electoral administration in electoral divisions. Each state and territory is divided into electoral divisions that correspond with each state or territory’s representation in the House of Representatives.

Our staff in divisional offices conduct elections and roll management and public awareness activities within their divisions.

Some offices are stand-alone, while others are co-located.

Figure 1: Organisation as at 30 June 2012

Organisation chart

Figure 2: Electoral divisions

Electoral divisions