Year in review

AEC overview

Report on performance: Program 1.1 Electoral roll management

Report on performance: Program 1.2 Election management and support services

Report on performance: Program 1.3 Education and communication

Management and accountability

Financial statements



Office network

Updated: 17 October 2011

AEC offices are organised geographically, with the National Office in Canberra, a state office in each state and the Northern Territory, and divisional offices in or near each of the 150 electoral divisions.

National Office

The National Office is organised into eight branches:

  • Education and Communications
  • Elections
  • Finance and Business Services
  • Information Technology
  • Legal and Compliance
  • People Services
  • Roll Management
  • Strategic Capability.

In the National Office:

  • the Assistant Commissioner Education and Communications has national policy responsibility for the AEC's Public Awareness programs,
  • the Assistant Commissioner Roll Management has national responsibility for roll management, and
  • the Assistant Commissioner Elections has national responsibility for parliamentary and Torres Strait Regional Authority elections.

State offices

Each state office is headed by a state manager. The state manager is the Australian Electoral Officer for the state or territory, and is responsible for managing AEC activities, including conducting federal elections and referendums.

The State Manager for New South Wales also has administrative responsibility for the Australian Capital Territory divisions between elections. During an election period, an Australian Electoral Officer is appointed for the territory.

In addition:

  • the State Manager for New South Wales has national policy responsibility for the AEC's conduct of industrial elections and protected action ballots, and
  • the State Manager for Victoria has national policy responsibility for the AEC's fee-for-service elections.

Divisional offices

Each state or territory is divided into a number of electoral divisions that corresponds to its number of members in the House of Representatives. At the end of 2010–11, there were 150 electoral divisions. Divisional offices are responsible for service delivery in elections, roll management and public awareness activities. Some divisional offices are co located with other divisional offices or state offices.

Australia's electoral divisions are shown in Figure 4.

Figure 4 Electoral divisions

Figure 4 Electoral divisions

Text description of Figure 4

Contact details

The AEC's national telephone enquiry number is 13 23 26; the national email address for enquiries is

Contact details for the AEC's National Office and state offices are shown in Table 3. The AEC website ( provides contact details for divisional offices.

Table 3 Office contact details
Offices Address Telephone
National West Block Offices
Queen Victoria Terrace
Parkes ACT 2600
02 6271 4411
New South Wales Level 4, Roden Cutler House
24 Campbell Street
Sydney NSW 2000
02 9375 6333
Victoria Level 8, Casselden Place
2 Lonsdale Street
Melbourne VIC 3000
03 9285 7171
Queensland Level 7, 488 Queen Street
Brisbane QLD 4000
07 3834 3400
Western Australia Level 3, 111 St Georges Terrace
Perth WA 6000
08 6363 8080
South Australia Level 9, Origin Energy House
1 King William Street
Adelaide SA 5000
08 8237 6555
Tasmania Level 2, NAB House
86 Collins Street
Hobart TAS 7000
03 6235 0500
Northern Territory Level 7, TCG Centre
80 Mitchell Street
Darwin NT 0800
08 8982 8000