Year in review

AEC overview

Report on performance: Outcome 1

Report on performance: Outcome 2

Report on performance: Outcome 3

Management and accountability



Financial statements

Organisational structure

Updated: 25 November 2010

On this page:

The AEC's organisational structure for 2009–10, including the names of senior executives, is shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1 Organisation chart as at 30 June 2010

Figure 1: thumbnail of organisation chart

Full size Figure 1

Text description of Figure 1

Return to top


The Electoral Act was amended in 1984 to establish a three-person Australian Electoral Commission (Commission) with the functions and powers set out in s.7 of the Electoral Act. The Commission meets as required in accordance with s.15 of the Electoral Act.

The Commission consists of a chairperson, who must be an active or retired judge of the Federal Court of Australia; the Electoral Commissioner; and a non-judicial member.

At 30 June 2010, the Commission consisted of:

  • the Hon. Peter Heerey QC, the Chairperson
  • Mr Ed Killesteyn, the Electoral Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer of the AEC
  • Mr Brian Pink (the Australian Statistician), the part-time, non-judicial member.

Return to top

Senior staff

As Chief Executive Officer, the Electoral Commissioner has the powers of an agency head (within the meaning of the Public Service Act 1999), and has responsibility for the management and strategic leadership of the AEC in relation to:

  • enrolment and election activities
  • conduct of federal parliamentary elections and referendums, and certain other ballots, including those for industrial organisations
  • electoral education programs
  • electoral research
  • administration of human, financial and other resources
  • provision of assistance in relation to overseas elections and referendums
  • national dissemination of electoral information and education services.

Assisting the Electoral Commissioner are members of the AEC's Executive Management Group. In the national office are the Deputy Electoral Commissioner, two first assistant commissioners, six assistant commissioners, the Chief Finance Officer and the Chief Legal Officer.

State managers, who hold the statutory appointment of Australian Electoral Officer for each state and the Northern Territory, also assist the Electoral Commissioner in managing electoral activities in their respective jurisdictions.

Photograph of the Executive Management Group

Executive Management Group. Back row (l,r): Paul Pirani, Pablo Carpay, Neal Mason, Chris Drury, Tim Courtney, Sandra Riordan, Jenni McMullan, Cheryl McRae, Steve Kennedy, Rachel Harris, Robert Pugsley, Peter Kramer. Front row (l,r): Marie Neilson, Doug Orr, Anne Bright, Barbara Davis, Ed Killesteyn, Paul Dacey, Kevin Kitson, Kathy Mitchell, Michael Maley.
Image credit: Eddison Photography Studio