Year in review

AEC overview

Report on performance: Outcome 1

Report on performance: Outcome 2

Report on performance: Outcome 3

Management and accountability



Financial statements

Legislative framework

Updated: 25 November 2010

The AEC operates as an independent agency under the Electoral Act. The various legislative provisions under which the AEC develops its core business processes, purpose, values and leadership capabilities, and conducts its activities, are summarised in Table 3.

Table 3 Legislative framework
Legislative instrument AEC function

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Act 2005

Conducting certain Torres Strait Regional Authority elections

Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918

Conducting federal elections

Maintaining and updating the Commonwealth electoral roll, including evidence of identity requirements

Promoting public awareness of electoral and parliamentary matters through information and education programs

Providing international electoral assistance in cases approved by the Minister for Foreign Affairs

Conducting and promoting research into electoral matters and other matters that relate to AEC functions

Registering political parties

Paying public funding to election candidates and parties, and publishing financial details of political parties and others

Determining representation entitlements (redistributions)

Electoral and Referendum Regulations 1940

Conducting federal elections and referendums and providing elector information

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Conducting industrial elections

Fair Work Act 2009

Conducting protected action ballots

Financial Management and Accountability Act 1997

Managing public money and property

Freedom of Information Act 1982

Holding and releasing documents

Privacy Act 1988

Storing, using and disclosing personal information

Public Service Act 1999

Ensuring the effective and fair employment, management and leadership of its employees

Referendum (Machinery Provisions) Act 1984

Conducting referendums

Representation Act 1983

Defines the number of senators per state