Year in review

AEC overview

Report on performance: Outcome 1

Report on performance: Outcome 2

Report on performance: Outcome 3

Management and accountability

Financial performance and future operations




Updated: 17 December 2010

Abbreviation and acronyms

AAT Administrative Appeals Tribunal
AEC Australian Electoral Commission
AEO Australian Electoral Officer
ANAO Australian National Audit Office
APS Australian Public Service
APSC Australian Public Service Commission
AWA Australian Workplace Agreement
BRIDGE Building Resources in Democracy, Governance and Elections
CDR Court of Disputed Returns
CRU Continuous Roll Update
EEC Electoral Education Centre
Electoral Act Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918
EMG Executive Management Group
EPBC Act Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999
ESD environmentally sustainable development
FOI Act Freedom of Information Act 1982
GENESIS general enrolment, elections support and information system
GST goods and services tax
Hon., the the Honourable (a title accorded to certain senior Commonwealth office holders)
HRSD Human Resources Strategy and Development Section
ICT information and communication technology
ILS Australian Public Service Commission's Integrated Leadership System
JSCEM Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters
LGA Local Government Area
MP Member of Parliament
NACARAS North and Central Australian Remote Area Strategy
OHS occupational health and safety
OHS Act Occupational Health and Safety Act 1991
PIANZEA Pacific Islands, Australia and New Zealand Electoral Administrators' Network
PMP Performance Management Program
Privacy Act Privacy Act 1988
PSM Public Service Medal
QC Queen's Counsel
SCVP School and Community Visits Program
SES Senior Executive Service
STAE East Timor's Technical Secretariat for Electoral Administration, known in Portuguese as
Secretariado Técnico de Administração Eleitoral
WAEC Western Australian Electoral Commission
YES Youth Electoral Study